Benner’s Stages of Clinical Competence | Cheap Nursing Papers

Benner’s Stages of Clinical Competence

  • Select any three of Benner’s Seven Domains of Nursing Practice listed below to describe a recent experience that relates to the domain you selected:
    1. Helping Role
    2. Teaching/Coaching
    3. Diagnostic/Monitoring
    4. Management of Rapidly Changing Situations
    5. Administering and Monitoring Interventions
    6. Monitors and Ensures the Quality of Practice
    7. Organizational and Work Role Competencies

Note: Benner’s Generic Domains of Practice can be adapted for use in all areas of nursing.

  • Describe an experience for each Domain of Nursing Practice you selected.
    • Identify your competence level using Benner’s Levels of Proficiency (i.e., novice, advanced beginner, competent, proficient, or expert practitioner);
    • To help you describe your experiences, review the exemplars for each domain of practice provided in chapters 4 -10 (Benner, 2001);
    • In describing the three experiences, use the appropriate criteria to outline the description of your experience, and to validate your level of competence. For example, criteria for the level of Expert Practitioner includes extensive experience, instantaneous grasp of most salient features of a situation, and professional instincts that lead to intuitive decision making and judgment. Expert Practitioners anticipate the unexpected, will still use analytical skills to process info in new situations, perform fluidly and effortlessly, and are respected by physicians.
  • Explain why your behaviors demonstrate the level or stage of competence you defined. If your behaviors are not at the Expert Level, describe what you would need to do to advance to the next level.

"Get 15% discount on your first 3 orders with us"
Use the following coupon

Order Now

Hi there! Click one of our representatives below and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Chat with us on WhatsApp